Herbert W Armstrong Library
Sign In  |  MyHWA  |    
Question Box
Good News Magazine
December 1960
Volume: Vol IX, No. 12
QR Code
Question Box
Good News Staff

I thought it was all right to use "Jell-O." But I have been told it contains pork Is this true?

   The use of some brands of gelatin, including Jell-O" and "Royal" has been questioned by several members in the Church. Some were sure that these brands contain pork and shouldn't be used. Others were in doubt. Some assumed all brands of prepared gelatin were permissible to use. Just what is the truth?
   Here are the facts about the content of Jell-O," directly from the manufacturer of this brand. When asked what was used in making their product, this was the reply: "The gelatin used in Jell-O is extracted from the skins of food animals, principally beef and calf with some pork. In addition to being used in many pure food products, gelatin is used in very substantial quantity in the manufacture of medicines, for coating pills, for making capsules, as well as other medical preparations."
   A letter from the Research Service Department of the company which makes "Royal" gelatin revealed this: "Gelatin is a pure food product made from collagen, a protein constituent of animal tissues, particularly from parts of Pork skins and beef bones. Royal, as well as others in the industry, uses these sources as raw materials for their gelatin."
   So both "Jell-O" and "Royal" contain pork products, as well as other harmful ingredients such as artificial flavoring, coloring and sweetening, which should also be avoided. Is there a gelatin which contains no pork or harmful additives? If you desire a gelatin product, you should search the grocery shelves in your area to locate a brand of gelatin clearly labelled "all beef" or "all calf" products. Some of the more common gelatins which are made from beef are "McCormick," "Ben-Hur" and "United States." The widely available Knox gelatin is unfortunately no longer all beef and should not be used.
   A vegetable gelatin would also be suitable. Such a gelatin may be plain, unflavored, and without added sugar. You can flavor it with fruit juice and sweeten it with raw sugar or honey. Vegetable gelatin IS generally available only in health food stores. If they do not have it they can order it for you.
Note: Some of these products now use vegetable gelatin. Be sure to check the label.

Back To Top

Good News MagazineDecember 1960Vol IX, No. 12
|  Fundamental Doctrines of the Church of God  |  Comments or Suggestions?  |  FAQ  |   Holy Day Information   |   Site Map   |   Donations   |
|  Sabbath & Holy Day Services   |   Weekly Bible Study Services   |   Video Groups   |   2016 Feast of Tabernacles   |
Follow Us: HWALibrary - Mobile Site
Copyright © 2016 Herbert W Armstrong Library
Important Notice

Please Note:

The address and phone number for the Worldwide Church of God given for material are no longer valid for obtaining the material offered in booklets, magazines, telecast and radio broadcast.

HWALibrary.com has all material offered on this site 100% free. You do not need to call or mail your requests, simply do a search for the material offered on our site.

The Worldwide Church of God dissolved after Mr. Armstrong's death in January 1986.

Visit our FAQ page for instructions on downloading audio and video files.

Sabbath Services

Sabbath Services:

Hello, and welcome to our Sabbath and Holy Day service tab. The services provided are selected from the recorded library of this website HWALibrary.com.

Services are posted every Sabbath or Holy Day. Our service consists of 3 hymns, a Sermonette, a hymn, the Sermon and a final hymn.

Continue to the Sabbath Service page.

Bible Study Services

Bible Study:

Hello, and welcome to our Bible Study service tab. The services provided are selected from the recorded library of this website HWALibrary.com.

Bible Study services are posted each Wednesday. Our service consists of an opening hymn, a Bible Study and a final hymn.

Continue to the Bible Study Service page.